My sweet valentine

MonkeyMoo came home from preschool saying she needed to wear red or pink for Valentine’s Day. It doesnt really take much to give me an excuse to sew for her, but a specific “we need this” is always a good prompt. She has leggings, plain tops in those colours but nothing a bit special. Which, lets face it, is how every girl should feel on Valentine’s.

So, I decided it was the day to pull out some newly purchased Pattern Emporium designs. I chose the double ruffle flip with top stitched, mock flap pockets for her skirt. For the top, I used the bella bodice. I did a mash of the ruffle hem pattern with the flutter sleeve variation. Both were made of red cotton with white spot coordinating cotton. The fabrics were under £5 from our local haberdashery. I used less than a metre of each for the full outfit. Bargain!

I have only just ventured into ruffles so the flutter sleeves and the hem were a great extra practice! The tutorials were great. I like that they have clear hints for less experienced people too. Of course, the gorgeous Pattern Emporium being an Australian business, have lots of “summer weather” designs. but both of these patterns can easily be made suitable for the UK climate with the addition of a top and tights. Sorted!

One Happy Moo. With a tie for for her date for the day of course.

3 thoughts on “My sweet valentine

Leave a Reply

