Heidi & Finn: the cutest girls’ coat?

I bought the new Heidi and Finn Chic Cocktail swing coat pattern this week. I had seen tester photos in one of my pattern groups. It was just too cute to resist. It suits a variety of fabrics, but for my first try at it, I decided to use fleece. Ikea microfleece blankets to be precise! At the request of Monkeymoo, these were hot pink and white swirlies.

IMG_9181
This pattern comes with options of hood, no hood, collar, no collar but also EARS!! I love clothes with ears for Monkeymoo. Monkeymoo loves clothes with ears even more. She chose the bunny ears, instead of bear or mouse ears. She also elected to have the lining fabric of her hood on the outside of it

IMG_9177

The fastening options suggested are buttons or a big, gorgeous bow, tied through a button hole, with a snap inside the coat for holding it from flapping. I actually opted to use snaps for all the fastenings (mainly because I dont have a new button hole foot yet). However, once I had finished the coat, I decided to add a smaller version of the bow to break up the strong pink.

IMG_9176

The pattern was fantastic to follow. This coat looks smart, stylish, but age appropriate. It was a great tutorial, with amazing results at the end. I went back and bought the second size pattern straight away after reading the tutorial for the first. This is a coat I will make again and again, plus I suspect it will become a favourite in my go-to gifts patterns.

IMG_9148

Leave a Reply

