Fresh Mother’s Day dress

I decided to make Monkeymoo a new dress to wear for our Mother’s Day outing. I have seen the Fresh Designs Butterfly tea dress sewn up and rather love it. I didnt want to use super pricey fabric for a pattern I hadnt tried before, so I chose a lightweight floral cotton I got in a clearance. I teamed it up with a spotty coordinate I bought in a scrap bag that I was very excited to finally use.

IMG_1221

 

I chose the full circle skirt with the optional super big ruffle sleeves. I had intended to do a double ruffle, but it detracted from the bottom ruffle. I am really loving the rolled hems now, it just uses a large amount of thread!

IMG_1206-2

 

This dress was the first opportunity I’ve had to use my new Kam Snap pliers. They were great, and very easy to use, but I do think I need a table-top snap press as my hand joints aren’t fabulous and it hurt them a bit!

IMG_1210

The back of the Butterfly tea dress is one of my favourite parts about it. Monkeymoo didnt want to wear a pettiskirt with it, but I think it still looks quite full because of the size of the skirt.

IMG_1238

Monkeymoo’s favourite things about this dress are the ruffles and the fabulous twirl capacity of course. We will definitely be making more of this dress!

IMG_1211

 

Leave a Reply

