Seaside fun

I’ve had the Fresh Designs Seaside top and dress pattern for a little while. I finally got round to making it this week! It was an absolute pleasure to make, quick, easy, and a nice finished product.

The first dress I made was using a bundle of gorgeous scraps I purchased from Junk Monkies. Most of it is Michael Miller – the front panel is “Nuts For Dinner” with “Foxtrot in Jewel” neck trim and acornucopia ruffle. The back is trimmed with Norwegian Woods Scandi, the main panel is Central Park by Kate Spain.

IMG_1243 IMG_1244

I chose to make the top length. Although I decided at the last minute to do the ruffle hem and didnt shorten it by the recommended 2″ for the ruffle hem, so the finished length is a nice tunic style. I did not have enough to do front and back the same and I was really pleased in the end – I’ve never loved the side shot of a dress so much!

IMG_1249

Between the different fabrics, there are a whole host of adorable little critters – foxes, squirrels, hedgehogs, birdies.

IMG_1266

Monkeymoo is in love with this dress. I think I am too.

IMG_1252 IMG_1250 IMG_1256

The second tunic that I made is a bit special. Its a fabric test I was asked to do for Elephant in my Handbag. The beautiful Roald Dahl fabric is a gorgeous medium weight cotton sateen. I used the Matilda fabric and the Matilda Bunk-Doodling Books for the trim.

IMG_1278

It was a beautiful fabric to work with, although the size of the pattern design made it quite a wasteful pattern in terms of placement. But its gorgeous.

IMG_1279 I absolutely love the trim. It took more work to do a neat rolled hem with the heavy weave of the sateen. However, I think the finished result was worth it!

IMG_1277

 

The Seaside pattern is a wonderful one and the quality of finish that the tutorial allows is fabulous. Another pattern that will become a firm favourite for quick, everyday sews!

Leave a Reply

