Secret Garden Picnic

Sometimes, a pattern comes along and I think “I NEED THAT”. It hasn’t happened for a while. Until I saw the sample images for the collaborative pattern from Sprouting Jube Jube with E & M Patterns.

Moo was due to graduate preschool. I had not found her pattern yet. Then I saw this. And they chose me as part of the tester group.  I have to admit, I was stupidly excited. It was The Dress. The one i NEEDED to make. It was The Secret Garden Dress.

I knew exactly which fabric I wanted to use. I made the skirt and bodice from the kittens of the Pam Kitty Picnic range:

IMG_9457

 

I did the front underskirt in the coordinating floral, and continued it round to the back skirt. I added a sash at the front from the coordinating spots to break up the blue:

 

IMG_9443

 

For the stunning flounce & bow, I used a mixture of the Picnic floral and Michael Miller Fairy Frost. This fabric is hideous to photograph perfectly, but it has the most beautiful shimmer, and with the shape of the flounce it catches the light wonderfully.

IMG_9377

 

The wonderful deep, but suitably modest V shape of the back means that in a number of the sizes, this pattern can be made without a zip. I took that option and it was absolutely perfect for Moo. It goes over her head (on and off) without any issue at all.

IMG_9439

 

Technically, it is a wonderfully written tutorial. It is clear, precise, well illustrated. As a pattern, its sized very well, the pieces are easy to understand, put together and work with. It was a real pleasure to make. So much so that when her little friend wanted a dress for graduation, I made one again using this pattern, only without the flounce and underskirt:

IMG_0456-2 IMG_0837

This time, rather than sewing the sash into the bodice, I sewed loops into the side seams and added a ribbon sash for a big bow at the back. Beautiful pale blue lace finished the hem off wonderfully.

For those of you that follow our blog, you will know that a key test of a new party dress for Moo is its twirl factor:

IMG_9415

This one passed with flying colours.

It has rapidly become her favourite party dress. We can both HUGELY recommend it.

Leave a Reply

