Tilda Skates

I am a bit of a one for seeing a new pattern, buying it almost immediately (“it’s on offer, I shouldn’t miss out” – that totally works on me). And then it sitting in my collection for a wee while. The Boo! Designs Skater skirt pattern is one such pattern. I loved it, just hadnt got on to sewing it. I have 8 sat, cut out, waiting. Until my dear niece turned 14 this past week and I wanted something special for her. This is a very “her” skirt. It was the perfect answer.

Recently, I bought some absolutely beautiful Tilda grey Laura roses fabric. I’ve stroked it a while, loved it, folded it back up, and put it carefully back on the shelf. I’ve never paid £17 a metre for fabric, but this was very beautiful. I had found my combination. The roses. The Boo! Designs pattern. Ideal.

IMG_1313

 

This pattern is so straight forward, its wonderful. With sizing based on measurements, rather than set sizes, it is perfect for custom orders to perfectly fit individual young ladies.

IMG_1312It comes with so many options: Elastic waist, concealed zip, exposed zip, suspenders, thigh length, below the knee. At every step of the tutorial, each variation of the pattern is differentiated so clearly, its really easy to follow whichever combinations you’ve gone for. This time, I opted for the exposed zip, thigh length skirt.

IMG_1311

Installing the zipper was so clearly explained, as with all Boo! designs patterns. I was slightly wary of how the finished product with look, but had seen fabulous examples of it and the pale pink zipper I had just seemed to call for it.

IMG_1314

The pattern offers a range of hemming options, rolled, bias bound, ruffled or traditionally hemmed. This time, I opted for the traditional hem as the fabric felt busy enough.

IMG_1316

I guarantee this will be a pattern I return to – not least to get those 8 skirts sewed up to completion, because I can’t wait to see them all finished! This is a really fabulous, quick pattern!

Leave a Reply

