Holiday testing

We were very excited when the lovely Laura of Ellie Inspired called for testers for her new Holiday ranges. We were delighted to be able to test patterns from the Infant range, the Girls’ range and the Boys’ range!

One of my favourites of the Holiday patterns is the Miss Merry Mack. An update on her previously released Mary Mack pattern, this is quite possibly one of the most adorable “traditional” party dresses I have ever sewed. I just love the collar and the puff sleeves are scrummy!! I have a second one of these to make for Moo already.

IMG_8635 IMG_8643

We tested the Dapper Lad’s waistcoat. I added a ruffle to the hemline to “girl it up” a bit. Moo was super pleased with this one and wore it the next day. The fabric is a light cord from Granny’s stash. I teamed it with a Boo! Designs twirly skirt, trimmed with needlecord (quite possibly from Granny’s stash….)

IMG_7388 IMG_7408

For two extremely fab but wonderfully quick sews, I made a couple of the “Sweater dresses”. The first one, Moo rocked a 60s style in a cute vintage stretch sateen. From Granny’s stash!

IMG_7443 IMG_7487

The second sweater dress I made for Moo used to be a dress of mine. I didnt like the hang of it anymore on me and was going to donate it. But then this pattern came along! I used the existing hem and sleeves for the ruffles and was just a bit obsessive about pattern matching on the side sleeves. I am really happy with how this one came out. The pattern is so quick and easy too!!

IMG_8016 IMG_8004

 

The final pattern that we completed during testing was the Dasher & Dancer dungarees. These are so cute. Moo loves them and has worn them loads already. I added ruffles to the straps, because, well we loooove ruffles. I used the optional ruffle hem included in the pattern. The end result was rather sweet. And this fabric wasnt even from Granny’s stash!

 

IMG_7975 IMG_7996

 

I can highly recommend this pattern set! We are on with a boys’ pea coat and a selection of waistcoats. We have an order for a third Merry Mack. And Moo is insisting that she wants the dungarees in a bigger size in the future. Always a compliment!!

Leave a Reply

