Pinny fun

The Boo! Designs pinny pattern is a huge favourite in our household. Its such a versatile pattern. I recently used it to create Moo’s birthday dress for her little family tea party, with just a few modifications! The fabric I found at a massive discount in our local haberdashery and I am utterly smitten with. Granny’s stash gave me a super sweet polka dot that was exactly what I needed!

IMG_8117

I love the pattern, but this time we sized up the bodice 2 sizes so that it gave more coverage without a top underneath it

IMG_8113 I added a TRIPLE!!!! ruffle to the straps – broderie anglais and both co-ordinating trims and they were the ruffliest ruffles I have ever done. I added a bit extra width to both front  and back of the skirt for added twirl factor & partyness before I then added a contrast strip and ruffle hem to the skirt.

IMG_8107

I added a sash to the waist, as Moo adores a good bow on the back of her dresses. The bulk of the side seams because of the many ruffles and the sash presented my sewing machine with challenges, but we got there! I made a hair bow with added ribbon for just a bit extra special.

IMG_8097 Final touch was of course a pettiskirt for ultimate poofy and twirl! Thanks Boo!

Leave a Reply

